notes | current | older | archive mail

02.24.03 | 1:31 pm
High School Debate and Painting Bathrooms

This definitely qualifies as an adventure, at least in Iowa. I set off for the big city to judge at the debate tournement that had been canceled the week before due to snow. Started out sort of boring - there were a number of teams that needed to be eliminated. That went on for a while Friday, Warren's parents came up and dropped off a car for him and took us out to dinner. Part of the judging thing was that they gave us a free hotel room in a really nice hotel - double beds and I didn't have to walk down the hallway to go to the bathroom.

Saturday, the judging got a little more intense, at least at the very end after I had sat around for a while. I ran into a girl I went to high school with, but she has an irrational hatred of me and the whole conversation was awkward. At the very end of a really long day, it finally got interesting - I had come to the tournement because the team Ben coaches needed judges, and while sitting in the cafeteria full of high schoolers who had a tendency to break out into musicals, I had become friends with one of the kids Ben coaches. The final round turned out to be not so final, so there was another tie breaker, in which I was on the judging panel and the kid Ben coaches was a speaker. It was a unanimous vote for him, so I couldn't be charged with doing anything shady.

I don't remember what happened Sunday, but Monday night was really fun - I went into town and painted the bathrooms at the coffee shop Warren works at.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland