notes | current | older | archive mail

07.26.04 | 4:02 pm
Knitting Sort of blog

I have now got my computer back, AND have fixed the wireless to be secure and, more importantly, to work. I can now get back to some serious posting.

I think I am going to revamp this to be a knitting blog, which is better than a bitch-about-things blog. We will see how that goes. Don't think there can really be a format change, but since the topic will be what I am knitting anyway, it doesn't make a difference now does it?

I have started a Hanne Falkenberg sweater for my mom (the Dacapo) and found that Harrisville Shetland is a great substitute for her yarn. Since I had the pattern already from buying a kit, I sure as hell wasn't going to buy the kit again to get the right yarn. It is going well since I like geometric/logical sorts of patterns. I hate to be tied down to my pattern sheet.

Which brings me to knit lit. I have just recently picked up Elizabeth Zimmerman's Knitter's Almanac and Knitting Workshop. I love the way things are explained so that they can be adapted to whatever you want.

In addition to mom's sweater, I am still going at my Russian wool sweater, have a funky scarf thing that has been designated as the purse-project to be carried everywhere with me, a sock that is also in the purse for when I want to show off. I think limiting myself to two or three things on the needles would be a good idea.

When I finish this stuff, I am going to make a striped sweater for myself, and I just saw the tartan jacket in Interweave Knit's fall magazine and promptly fell in love with how it looks. I am in this for the texture and the color of the jacket.

In other news, I just got cantact lenses for the first time and LOVE them. I do blink a lot right now, but people have been giving me so many compliments! I work in a coffeehouse and see the regulars almost every day, and they noticed!

OOO, and we got a hedgehog! We named it Tod, and it really does have a funny personality. It isn't too prickly towards us anymore. It escaped though last night, and Warren was looking for it this morning, and found it curled up in the sleeve of my Russian sweater. I will have to add hedgehog cozy to the list of projects to-do.

The ice cream truck is scooping the loop - this I don't mind - and I have to run down to the street now.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland