notes | current | older | archive mail

09.28.04 | 10:00 pm
some photos, finally

I have received so much encouragement from people regarding taking the GRE and doing this whole grad school thing. If I remember that the rest of the pool is applying for grad school, which is a limited subset, I feel much better. It is a little overwhelming, thinking I am applying to become a Ph. D. So, thank you to The Mothers for making me feel ok, and to my secret pal.

Speaking of Secret Pals, I received the postcard, and it was the perfect thing to find in the mail. I love all of Edward Gorey's illustrations, and you even got a stamp with a bat on it! That is even cooler than the ones I found with R. Buckminster Fuller and the geodesic dome!

And to answer your questions, we won't really know until next year if this burn did reduce these invasive plants. By getting rid of the plants in the growing season before they seed, we think we will have reduced the spread, and we also hope that by getting rid of the nutrient producing parts before they prepared themselves to overwinter, that they won't all be able to come back in the spring.

Now that I have a camera, I can post photos of the things I am doing. I have done a lot of work on Mom's Dacapo, and am nearing the end of the first front panel. Bonnie's eye swelled shut so I knit at work today without having to talk to her.

I can also show off my progess on the Flower Basket shawl.

There was a bit of the skein that had some brown in it that will be at the center of the neck in back, and then it fades into blue green, and I have a skein a bit lighter to do the last bit of the edge.

Here is a close-up of a bit of the pattern knitted up, and the color and texture of the yarn.

I can't really tell the flower basket shape like I can in the photograph of the design. It looks more like the leaf pattern to me, but that doesn't matter very much as long as it produces something pretty. And it is very pretty.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland