notes | current | older | archive mail

10.08.04 | 2:45 pm
It has been a quiet week, and you would almost think it was Lake Wobegon

It was a really busy week, so I do not have any knitting progress. I do have all sorts of fungal progress, since I finished my identifications, took an exam on everything possible about fungi and did well. I also found out that my trekking around in the rain and mud last friday, yielded NOTHING. The dang dirt was too wet and dried into rocks and no bugs were able to fall out.

The farmer's market is always a highlight of my week, and this week especially. There is the man who always gives me much more produce than I paid for, and does it because he says it makes me smile and that is worth it to him. He needs some sort of thank you, and fast since the last market is next week.

I also ran into the woman who played the organ at my wedding, and we talked for a while. She has had surgery, and tests show that they removed all her cancer, and she will not need any more treatments. She was so happy telling me this. And we talked about her daughter looking for colleges, and my sister doing the same thing, and then the woman selling bread near where we were standing got in on the conversation. Then the whole thing shifted to how we knew each other, and the way it ended up is now everyone who sells anything at the market knows me if they didn't already, and a bunch of the college trustees who happened to be there, and I was invited to lunch with them along with other students.

I love the way small towns work. Living downtown I have met nearly everyone who lives in town, works downtown, or frequents the area. I can match kids to parents, and they know me as the one who gives them a quarter for candy when they come in to get mom coffee. I know all the wackos, and which topics to avoid, and where they live if they are lost. I know all the old guys, everybody's health, and all the new babies.

And for as much as we gripe about not having much here, we aren't missing anything we need. And they are showing the new Harry Potter movie this weekend, so I will get to see this Weasley hat that is supposed to be so great. Oh, and the rest of the movie.

I did a little shawl knitting at work this week, just a row or two. I love the increasing triangle at first when it goes so fast, but it gets huge so fast and then each row takes a really long time.

During the VP debates I started patching up a favorite grey sweater that has worn out elbows. The yarn doesn't match perfectly, but well enough, so I am just knitting new fabric onto the elbows. If this goes well, I have some other sweaters to patch.

Regarding the debates, with another tonight, JibJab has a new animation up. Go watch.

The yarn I ordered from Blackberry is here, but wasn't delivered, and wasn't at the post office when I went to pick it up. It is probably good that I don't have it yet so I clean the house, rather than play with yarn. Pictures of the gorgeous colors will be up when the yarn arrives since the samples I have don't show nearly enough.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland