notes | current | older | archive mail

10.14.04 | 11:43 am
Soft, cozy presents and chocolate

Secret Pal, you are wonderful! I stopped for coffee after my last class for 11 days, and inside my door there is a package! A nice way to top off a good morning. The dark green and chocolate brown yarn is gorgeous. This is wonderful stuff!

For those that can't touch it, it is Wings, from Classic Elite, and is 55% alpaca, 23% silk, and 22% wool, and the tag describes it as "cashmere-like hand, light weight and lofty, great stitch definition. This yarn is 15% hollow. Each ply has a hollow center that holds a layer of air, like goose down, for warmth and comfort."

I already have an idea for it - A hat in the green with a stripe of brown, and a brown scarf with a stripe or two of green. I saw a scarf pattern that is very short and fastens with a button.

But that wasn't all! A lovely smelling bar of almond soap, which also scented the yarn, so I have almond scented Wings. And two bars of very dark chocolate, and not only are they about as dark as dark chocolate comes, but it is fair trade and organic endangered species chocolate. Not that the chocolate is endangered, which hopefully never happens, but that it helps support endangered species, this bar has baby zebras on it.

The chocolate is going with me up north, and I am not sharing, but enjoying and savoring it all myself.

I need to do some organizing for this trip I am taking to the Boundary Waters. It is as warm out right now, as it will be up there at the highest, and it is chilly.

There might be another post tomorrow, but otherwise I am out of touch, with the the only technology being waterproof socks and titanium teakettles. Cool tents should count too I suppose, and really fast canoes.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland