notes | current | older | archive mail

11.10.04 | 12:47 pm
Beads and Crochet

I am back from my trip to DC. I was there for a poorly run debate at GW University, but had a great time going back to a favorite Ethiopian restaurant and seeing the Native American museum, which is worth it for the architecture and concept, if not content. We happened to run into the guy that lived next to Warren last year while we were on the Metro - he lives in Omaha and was visiting some other Grinnellians for the weekend. I also ran into a friend who was is Moscow with me.

While I didn't go to Knit Happens, I did go to Beadazzled and picked up supplies for making beaded stitch markers. I figured out a method that uses 10mm jump rings, eyepins, whatever beads caught my eye, and a crimp. I have almost got a big package for my secret pal all finished up, and will have to include some of them. The camera went to West Point, so pictures have to wait.

I tried to do a multi-directional scarf with some Big Kureyon, but it pulled in funny directions and getting all stretched out of shape. I ripped it out and started over with a pattern of: K3, yo, K3tog, yo, continuing as such, ending with another K3, repeating over and over. It looks very nice - straight colomns with eyelets.

I am not much of a crocheter, but learned how in Russia when I bought a crochet magazine by mistake (knit and crochet are the same word). I ended up learning how to do it from that magazine, and made a mohair scarf out of granny-square sorts of flowers. If I have time, and can figure out what I did and how to say it in English, I am going to write it up to submit to the Crochet Calender that Annie Modesitt is putting together. And since I will have written out my own design - my first one to write out as a knitter is crochet - I might submit it to Crochet Me .

I should keep better notes of my knitting things as well so I can write them out.

Secret Pal, thanks for the postcard! A picture of a British policeman with a flock of sheep was a great thing to find in my mailbox!

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland