notes | current | older | archive mail

11.17.04 | 6:23 pm
Done with bug crafts and back to knitting

I picked up a copy of the new Knit.1 magazine put out by Vogue Knitting and Lion Brand- it was a freebie deal. If it hadn't been free, I wouldn't have touched it. It looks like Cosmo teamed up with Lion Brand to put out an uninspired, trying to hard to be trendy, and totally commercial attempt at a knitting magazine. Knitting is sexy? That sex-therapist WAY over analyses things. Fun Fur makes me cringe. The other thing that bugs me - and this goes for many magazines - is that the patterns are in the back, disconnected from the pictures, and I am not always sure what pictures have patterns. And they have horoscopes!!! I will stick with interweave.

I have been working on my socks again now that mailer season is over and I can go back to not doing work at work. I am almost to the point of turning the second heel. I have much more yarn left over than I expected, but am not sure what I have enough to make. Mittens would look great in the stipey yarn, but I don't want to end up with 1 and a half mittens.

Wendy said that i should be able to block the multidirectional scarf into shape, so I might make another attempt, but with a more pliable yarn.

The insect crafting is over - I have identified, pinned (which takes skill), repaired, labeled, repaired again (this time with super glue), and presented my collection. And was then offered a job preparing all the collections for inclusion in a giant collection. This would entail double checking all the identifications and sending most of them off to expert entomologists. I am crazy for considering it.

I am definitely over my squeemishness since I can deal with the tiny snake in the lab, and I can pick up live cockroaches without getting the willies. That was the test on if I will be a help as a TA or not - will I freak out in lab? I passed.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland