notes | current | older | archive mail

01.27.05 | 9:33 pm
Clapoitis, penguins, and slippers

So these finished objects I had been talking about? They really are finished, and mom's slippers are in the mail.

They are pretty big, but they turn out fantastic when felted.

The penguin and flowers are there for scale, and the penguin is another finished project from Knitty.

Just for more scale, and because he is cute, here he is with an innovative bottle design.

It is an aluminum bottle!

At the same place that we found the aluminum bottle, we found Arrogant Bastard Ale, which was perfect for Warren after an agravating day of debate.

Both of these bottles are from a store in Colorado Springs (we were there for a debate tournament at the Air Force Academy, which was quite an experience).

Since finishing the slippers and penguin, I have started Clapoitis, from Knitty, with some grey and white yarn I picked up in Russia. It is wool and acrylic (it was hard to find nice wool there, but it is nice acrylic) and is made of a thread plied with loosely spun fiber to make a sort of furry boucle.

I got it when I was learning to crochet and was making a shawl out of it. It looked sort of like a sheepdog, and I liked it, but wasn't happy with it.

I like how it is knitting up, and I can deal with the stripes and the flashing, I am only worried about how the dropped stitches will work in a yarn that isn't as smooth as the model.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland