notes | current | older | archive mail

04.04.05 | 5:17 pm
If I did just one thing at a time..

I have no excuses for the repeated lapses in posting. Maybe spring will help.

I have been working away at projects, and none of them are close to any milestone, let alone completion.

I have on needles right now (in case you lost track of how ever many, too:

Warren's sweater (Glen Orchy from Simply Shetland)

A claret colored mohair beaded scarf with green beads

The same pink and green socks started at Christmas

The less active but still on needles projects are Mom's dacapo, Clapoitis, and, well, I am sure there are other things lurking that I have blocked out for now.

I think I would be a much faster knitter if I just did one or two things at a time, but I can't help wanting to start new things.

So the list of new things waiting to start begins with a new job - I am teaching the beginning knitting classes at Grinnell Fiber Works ! It is going to be garter stitch scarves, but not your ordinary garter stitch scarf since I am going to throw in rows of extended stitch to lace it up a bit for spring.

My other project itching to start is the tartan jacket, and I almost went to cast on for it rather than post, but it is a bit complicated and I don't want to take it out of the apartment because of all the little balls of dangling off of it. I am also not allowed to finish it before Warren's sweater.

The project that will start only after Warren's sweater is done (he wants it even if it is summer) is a striped sweater with yarn I dyed last weekend.

I was in Kansas with Yarn Barn dangerously close. After clutching a hank of dip-dyed mohair through the store, I let it go and only bought what I really needed - the rest of the tartan jacket yarn and supplies for a ladybug/grinnell colors wine cozy. And some silk hankies to spin. But I went back.

I got on the second trip undyed mohair (1.2 pounds!) natural colored Harrisville Shetland 2-ply, and a kit of acid dyes. Trip number three was just for more Harrisville.

Then it was off to find a suitable dye pot - stainless steel buckets work just fine on the stove.



The colors that came out are gorgeous. We figured out part way through that if you add skeins at slightly different times they will have slightly different intensities, but have the same hue. You could never get as many shades of blues and greens as I have from a commercial line.

The set that goes through blue to green is for my sweater. There are 1800 yards of sport weight, which should be enough.

The purples, pinks, salmon/orange, and light blue are mostly dyed on Cascade 220 white yarn that I left in Kansas

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland