notes | current | older | archive mail

04.10.05 | 10:15 pm
One finished, two started

The dye photo is up in my previous post, so take a look at all the pretty colors.

I have finished the pink and green Koigu socks! Last week was a symposium on Forgotten Forests, so I went to a number of lectures to learn about the history of forests in England, patterns of deforestation in Kamchatka following the fall of the USSR, history of environmentalism, state of the department of forestry, and other things about conservation biology. So while listening to the sometimes-interesting lectures, I knit on the socks. They aren't totally finished since I need to weave in ends, but I'll call it done.

That is project 4 done, 5, 6, and 7 are spinning projects (wool and silk, alpaca, silk), 8 was a recycled silk scarf. That puts me nearly halfway through the yarn diet and I have been mostly very good.

Since I finished a project, I started two more. I started a pair of socks in spring colors using the Crusoe pattern from Knitty but modified it to be toe up, and I will use the sherman heel technique from Hipknitism .

I have also started the Tartan Jacket. I have three or four inches of the back done and like it so far. There are lots of little balls of yarn dangling and getting tangled up, but the colors are great. Until I had the balls set up I didn't realize that the colors are slightly muddy red, orange, yellow, green and blue. Usually I wouldn't pick a rainbow, but they look goos together.

I taught my first class at the new shop in town, and I think it went well. There were a few people that kept insisting they couldn't do it, but got it. There was a lefty who insisted she had to do everything backwards of what I did, which only made it difficult for her, although you can knit backwards with practice. Hopefully some of them will keep it up. Three more coming up.

The Diaryland server crashed and pictures are slowly being added back, so mine should start coming back, hopefully.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland