notes | current | older | archive mail

01.13.06 | 11:11 am
Back again

Every single post seems to be the same - haven't posted in a month, two months, six months. My New Year's resolutions are to go climbing much more often and to post more often. Think that will do it?

It has worked so far for climbing (rock climbing at a gym) and I know I have to do more to get back the strength and skill I had over the summer and fall.

I have been knitting a lot lately so that is providing things to show, but my excuse lately has been that the cord to get pictures off my camera and onto my computer is being used by W to link the PDA to his computer at work. So, while I have finished the sweater I started in Russia out of the handspun yarn, an adorable cabled alpaca hat (Shedir from Knitty Special Awareness Issue ), a scarf for a grandma, and made serious progress on the sweater for W, I still don't have any pictures.

Shedir is a really nice pattern. There were a few times where I didn't really see where cables were going, but it is charted out and makes sense a few rows in. The main cable pattern is easy to memorize and once the decreases are started for the star on the top you can see where the stitches need to be. I started it in the early fall, but let it sit around because it was too detailed for portable short bits of knitting and I had other at-home projects. Once I really started working on it, it took about a week, knitting a bit in the evenings.

The scarf I made in Lana Grossa Mega Boots Stretch. It turned out really nice, but took forever. I did a multidirectional pattern using short rows to make triangles, so the slow variation in the yarn showed up nicely. I did learn though that while I like sweaters to be not bulky, fine gauge scarves take too long. It is nice and lightweight, but the same thing could have been acheived faster with at least DK or worsted yarn. I have another ball and thought I would make a similar sort of scarf for myself, but that is going to be socks instead.

I have lots of sock yarn at the moment, and am going to keep socks with me at school to knit during my long breaks between classes. I have one more hat to finish in Atacama alpaca, and I also want to start some mittens in Noro Kureyon that I got for Christmas.

That is just the recent knitting - I also have lots of spinning and fibery things to show. I will save that for another post, and reclaim the camera cable.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland