notes | current | older | archive mail

02.03.06 | 12:59 pm
It stripes!

I have dyed the Olympic Sock Yarn.

It took over the dining room. I didn't have a warping board, so I set up benches upside down and walked around them to make a really big circle.

It took a while to wind all 600 yards.

I was going to use Kool-Aid to dye the yarn, but decided I wanted blue and purple stripes, and it was actually easier to use the Wash-Fast Acid Dyes.

After I had measured the appropriate lengths and tied them off, it was fast and loose with the dye. Some spots were a little pale with the blue, so I added a little more dye, the purple turned out darker than I wanted, so I just dipped the yarn a few times and called it good.

Warren didn't even ask why there was yarn in the shower, but carefully set it aside and replaced it to dry. He did say it was pretty cool how I made it stripe.

I have a picture of the yarn, but have to make it smaller before posting

I have also finally jumped on the RSS bandwagon, and after playing with NewsGator, I can be syndicated by clicking the NewsGator button on the lower right.

(The Knitting Olympics may be a family event over here, stay tuned!)

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland