notes | current | older | archive mail

05.12.03 | 9:54 pm
On to a not-so-nasty finals week

I just ended up at Dairyland.com, which is entirely different from diaryland.

Hell week is over, I survived, and let up too quickly, which is sort of like getting the academic bends. When you don't have anything you have to do, it is so wonderful, but it feels like you are forgetting to do so many things.

There was a third suicide on Friday, which was hard on the whole campus after just getting through hell week.

Saturday was really quiet and understated for being the weekend between classes and finals, but I don't think anyone had it in them to go wild at the toga party and drink all day.

Sunday my mom and sister and grandparents and puppy came to visit and hear the Beethoven concert, which went amazingly well. Warren's parents and sister came too.

Geneva loved the ferret and was thrilled to be in on a plan to give the mothers little bouquets of daisies. They brought Warren his phone and he keeps on playing with it. I think I have heard every ring tone and had to be a number of test callers.

Warren's parents brought asparagus too and we ate asparagus for dinner. And I made Teri a 21st birthday cake and made shortbread cookies because you use a pound of butter.

I sat in the sun at the park and drew for a while this afternoon and went to Saint's Rest for coffee and to the grocery store.

I got a package in the mail from US PIRG about what they do and the sorts of things I will do for them this summer. I still don't know what specifically I am doing, but it looks like a lot of interesting campaigns.

There are a number of study breaks on campus now - we just got another email. There is open swimming at the pool with pool toys, lots of food in all the lounges, people walking around with plates of cookies, people making pancakes, rooms full of babies, or puppies, or kitties, and open preschool play time.

It is nice to have all this and nice how everyone is making such an effort to talk to each other, but I have to wonder how long it will last. Next year will be the same, maybe with a few more posters about mental health, but no one working this hard to keep us happy. And does supplying a constant stream of puppies and babies really help that many people who are severly depressed?

I should get some work done, although I think I will just end up at yet another study break. This weekend has been one study break after another, and I had myself convinced that today was still weekend.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland