notes | current | older | archive mail

05.22.04 | 7:01 am
I am a knit geek

My entries aren't online right now, and I can't remember what shape I left the site in, but will get to fixing it up.

Being very very jetlagged means I go to bed early, and wake up very very early in the morning. I have seen the entire CNN rotation no less than 6 times today, not counting yesterday. It is 7 am and I feel like it should be 4 in the afternoon.

Being up though means I get to sit with my iBook and surf for as long as my heart desires, following whatever links I choose and finding as much information about as many things as I want. After having to carefully plan to make internet time and make sure that I got done the things I needed most, I love being able to sit and read through knitting patterns and dream about yarn. I don't have a little timer telling me how soon my time is going to run out!

One of the things I have found is a place called Knitty.

They have wonderful articles, and some really cool patterns, AND they show pictures of how the creation looks. They have a lot of advice about reworking patterns to make them right. Anyway, they have knit geek code.

I am:

KER++ Exp+ SPM++ Wood++ Steel+ Wool++ Lux++ Cot Syn--- Stash + Scale+(++) Fin Ent- FI-- Int-- Tex lace+ Felt++ Flat circ+ DPN+ Swatch KIP+ Blog FO 13 WIP 5 Gauge DK++ Worsted+ Cr

So that means, I knit English method right handed rather proficiently and quickly prefering wood needles and occasionally a good steel set, preferring wool, luxury fibers, can tolerate cotton, hate synthetics, have trouble passing a bargain and tend to accumulate yarn, finish some large projects with small gratifying ones, will tolerate finishing for the sake of making a nice piece, can't entrelac, fair isle, intrelac, can enjoy textures, laces, like felting, construct flat pieces but prefer circular and am good with double points, do my swatches, always knit in public, keep a blog of sorts, have finished 13 pieces, and have 5 in progress and usually like to work in DK or worsted weight, and can crochet.

I think today I will be finishing some of these works in progress and depending on my success, start a bag to felt, using some of my stash.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland