notes | current | older | archive mail

07.29.04 | 5:47 pm
Tickled pink

I am is such a wonderfull mood! All these people from the coffee shop keep coming up to me and telling me how nice I look, and that I am very pretty today. I am going to compliment others, knowing how nice it is. It is great! And all I did was take my glasses off and put the contacts in!

Work was also great because it was pretty quiet in between all those compliments. It was farmer's market day, and unusually quiet, but I got a lot of knitting done on Mom's Dacapo. I have finished the striping on the back triangle and am on the solid bit now.

I get the making of the back, making of the arms, attaching of the arms, but the front square things still have me a bit puzzled.

I have had an advance copy of KnitLit on my shelves for a long time, left from when I worked at a bookstore. I have been in a knitty mood lately and read everything I can find, and was casting about looking for things to read, and found it again. I had started it a while ago, put it down thinking it was dowdy, but it was the perfect thing to read while knitting away at work. Nice little short stories so it is easy to come and go.

I really don't have it in me to spin my own wool. I like things that have a nice soft hand and much prefer the process of making things with nice clean wool. The whole wash the wool, dye the wool, dry the wool, card the wool, spin the wool process leaves it dirty, coarse, And I don't really get the same satisfaction. So the wheel goes back to the mother-in-law. It was a nice way to find out it isn't for me.

Warren had offered me a wheel since he has been busy with his hobby of tinkering - it is a street bike right now, spurred I think by the Tour de France. I will trade that value for wool to do the tartan jacket. He is surprisingly supportive and tells to me buy yarn every chance I have. Even when I say I am being good and just looking, he says to buy it!

I have to get dinner in the oven so I can get back to knitting.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland