notes | current | older | archive mail

08.26.04 | 3:35 pm
Fungus!

First day of classes has come and gone. Registration day I worked at the coffee shop in the morning, and in the bookstore in the afternoon. 9-5, constant people everywhere.

People weren't quite as stupid buying books this year, but kept complaining about how much they were spending. I don't care and don't want to hear about it. I still spent more than they did.

I am excited about this fungal biology class this semester. Not many people could be excited about fungi, but I think it will be interesting. And we get to collect stuff and identify it!

The other cool thing I found today was in the specimen cupboard in the bio department. They rotated out some of the old specimens and put in others - one of which is an East African Hedgehog. It is the size of a large cat! Mine is tiny, and a pygmy.

I am a dork.

But the knitting content is important too.

Plugging away at a sleeve for the dacapo. It is coming along, but slow. I worked on it during Convocation listening to the president of the college speak about the legalities of diversity in admissions and free speech. I should have lots of time tonight.

I think I have figured out a mimic of charlotte's web that I will adjust for Katherine's yarn. It is constructed the same way the the back of the dacapo is, or any big mitered triangle. Increase in the center, and at the edges. I will knit a solid triangle until the sides are the number of stitches of the falling leaves lace pattern plus the edge stitches. Then just keep increasing, and working the pattern until there are enough stitches to insert the next band of falling leaves.

I keep looking at the Pooling colors scarf wishing I had something varigated that would work in my stash. No luck, will have to wait until I get to a yarn store to play with things.

My name is legally changed now and I have switched over all my files!

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland