notes | current | older | archive mail

09.15.04 | 3:44 pm
Knitting at work

I got a haircut today, and it is drastically shorter than I have had my hair since I was 3. I like it very much, and was glad I can't see what the hairdresser is doing with out my glasses, becuase I probably would have said stop.

Maybe it isn't quite so extreme, but it is much, much shorter.

I learned an unfortunate lesson. Don't take my knitting to work at the bookstore. This is not because something happened to the knitting, or because I wasn't supposed to be knitting.

(They are a bit unsure about delegating any sort of responsibility, and so I only work the registers. Early in the morning there is no one in the store, so there is nothing for me to do. I do show initiative and straighten up and fold the clothing. I used to knit at work all the time, or sometimes read.)

No, the lesson I learned, is that when Bonnie sees something to talk about, she will, and she will also talk constantly about whatever flashes though her head.

Bonnie used to be in the basement, and would talk to herself. Now she is upstairs where she talks to herself, but does it facing you.

In two hours of yakking, I only heard one bit of decent conversation, and that was that her gas stove had too much air in it and flames shot out of the oven.

She knits. She showed me the flourescent yellow yarn and blue and green fur yarn that she is using to make a purse. And then had to talk about every single thing she ever knitted. Sweaters with rows of school houses, blankets, but crocheted blankets are more substantial, knitting keeps her fingers limber, but crochet doesn't hurt as much... Had enough?

Oh, and wool is too fancy for her. Only acrylic for her.

Maybe I am a bit snobbish about yarn, but natural fibers are just so much better!

It would be one thing if she was talking with you, but there is nothing to reply about. If you do reply with anything, it just fuels her to keep going in your direction.

Enough about Bonnie. I miss Carol, who used to be upstairs.

I started the shawl. I started it many times, actually. It took many tries to get started right, at the right gauge, and then to read the pattern correctly. It will turn out nicely. When there is enough to get a decent picture, there will be one.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland