notes | current | older | archive mail

10.30.04 | 8:38 am
Socks and Politics

I am hoping that it was a bad dream, but we are pretty certain that we just lost the Iowa House race in this district to the uber-christian pumpkin-farming Republican. Our guy had made a very pro-choice robo-call message that was supposed to go to just a very select few of pro-choicers. The robo-call machine broke, and sent the message to everyone in the district, and sent it nine times within 15 minutes. All of the hard work and almost sure success, sucked away by a company with a broken machine.

Warren came home last night with Grand Theft Auto - San Andreas, so I have been knitting to the sounds of whatever it is you do in that game.

And what have I been knitting? Not any of the projects that I already have going, but a new one! I am knitting a pair of socks out of the Trekking yarn I picked up in Knife River. They are turning out very well, but the coolest part is the self-patterning. Warren was passing me the sock and looked at it and asked how I did it, because the ball of yarn looks like a bunch of colors, and the sock comes out striped with bits of fair isle-style checks. He called it cool! He thinks my knitting is "really neat!"

We have had some really strange weather this week - it was cold and rainy, then warmed up and continued to rain, ending in a very humid warm day. Then two bands of storms came through, and did not behave as expected. They dumped more rain, and there were some incredible winds. The wind never left, and you can actually SEE the wind outside. The clouds are really low and the wind pushes just enough fog around that you can see the gusts. Our windows have been rattling away. I don't think I will be doing the bike ride out to the lake and back this afternoon, or going out to the prairie.

Instead, I will finish the ribbing on a sock and post a picture of what

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland