notes | current | older | archive mail

11.24.04 | 3:28 pm
Happy Thanksgiving

Our weather has finally truly changed to winter. It was brisk fall up through yesterday, but it is now winter. It snowed in Kansas (I heard there was some sledding with cats), the winter decorations are up in town, and it has stayed below freezing all day.

I have been cleaning the house. Mostly that means putting Warren's papers in piles and putting my yarn back in the filing cabinet. He has his own files that are not taken up by yarn, but I don't dare move them because of his elaborate piles of stuff system. He lost his spanish book umpteen times yesterday, but has a system.

As I put things away, I also took another look at the yarn he wants a sweater knit from. 2 skeins charcoal, 3 skeins natural. At 225 yards a skein, that is not enough for a man sweater, and I think he might prefer all charcoal. I'll come back to this another time.

I hope this is a weekend of finishing things - I have a skinny scarf, socks, two sweaters, a shawl, a Noro scarf and some repairs all actively on needles right now. There is more that is midway and put away in my filing cabinet.

Also in the works this weekend is a blocking board. I have some exacto foam board, and plan on covering it with 1x1 inch checked fabric. I am still contemplating a layer of quilt batting and possibly a waterproof layer if I go that route. The board has a paper layer on each side and I don't want to lose the structure once it is damp, but pinning through a waterproof layer just makes little holes for moisture to get through. If I put batting on top of the plastic layer and pin flat rather than straight in, I should get it to last a while. But that then has the problem of pinning flat, although it isn't a huge problem.

On the to-do list for an extended weekend:

*Clean, and this time I mean it

*Bake two pies, hide the apple, let Warren eat the first pumpkin pie with enough time to make another pumpkin pie before friends arrive

*Try not to instigate fights over cooking - the turkey is a baby, but still not small enough to work sitting in the bottom of a broiler. I will do the corn and cranberries my way and let him control the bird and stuffing, but he knows he is cleaning the oven.

*Clean again before friends arrive, possibly again before family arrives

*Experiment making Glintwine, serve honeywine as a backup

*Knit my way through football

*Write soil fungus proposal I don't want anything to do with anymore (I am glad I don't have to do any of the proposal, but just propose something)

*Count little soil bugs

*Get rid of summer flowers in the window boxes and replace with evergreen branches, little white lights and tree decorations (maybe next weekend)

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland