notes | current | older | archive mail

12.17.04 | 11:20 am
And my secret pal is....

It has been a tough week - both for studying and for knitting.

I got to the end of the second dacapo sleeve, only to see that it didn't get wider like it should have. After going back over the directions, I figured out I decreased twice as much as I should have. I ripped the whole thing back to the green triangle.

I had a picture to show how much I did, but can't find the cord because Warren took it and put it somewhere, and doesn't remember where. There have also been internet troubles keeping me from posting, and Diaryland has been acting up.

One of my alpaca mittens got mixed into the laundry and came back from the laundromat nicely felted for a child's hand. Now the other one will have to go. They are nice and soft and the alpaca makes a nice felt. Maybe the rest of the alpaca-wool yarn should go to a felting project - a felt sheep maybe?

There were good things too.

I got my last package from my secret pal - Naomi! . There was some deliciously soft llama - wool yarn. That will need to be made into something cuddly, maybe a cowl neck scarf. And some caramels and tiny notebooks. There were some pictures - one of a leaf with a water droplet (the perfect color green) and one that is a chicken neuron growth cone. She has a bunch of photographs on her site - there is one of cauliflower that looks nothing like cauliflower. It really needs a picture to show the neuron unless you are good at imagining those things, but it is cool - Scientific art, like my flourescent nematode picture.

(I really should have worked harder on creating a hybrid insect with the parts that had broken off and the discarded ones. Wasps with grasshopper legs, beetle horns, and lady bug elytra (red spotted part) would have looked really cool, but I had given up on the super glue by that point.)

I have booby gifts and real gifts done, which is always good. Part of why they are all done is some people got early presents, some people are getting late presents, and Warren and I are gifting each other a photograph picked out while we are in New Mexico from this place

On the Knitting Beyond the Hebrides email list someone was talking about this site . There are all sorts of charts there from knitting fair isle, jaquard, pop culture motifs, and everything else. It is in Dutch and English, and has a lot of charts.

Speaking of charts, I translated of from japanese, and don't even speak the language. It doesn't take much to figure out patterns in other languages if you can read the chart, and most japanese patterns I have seen are charted. The pattern was for this scarf . It is a checkered scarf, knit in seed stitch. It is 20 stitches wide, each color box is 10 stitches by 15 rows, and has a row of the right hand box color before switching the color squares. Wrap the yarns when switching colors, and slip the first stitch on every row. If there is anyone else who reads charts and has a different interpretation, let me know.

(I think the brown and green yarn from my secret pal might turn up in this pattern, although I am still considering a two color brioche stitch scarf - it would be knit with horizontal rows of color, but end up with vertical stripes!)

I learned to crochet in Russia by reading the charts since knit and crochet language is specific and abbreviated in any language, and dictionaries just don't translate K2tog.

I am totally done with classes now, and am ready for a month+ off. I will be traveling around, and visiting yarn shops along the way. My computer and camera will be with me so I will post from all over the country.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland