notes | current | older | archive mail

02.17.05 | 10:27 pm
I have no excuses

Whoa, sort of fell off the face of the earth there for a while.

After the trip to Colorado classes started again. That isn't a decent excuse though because I wasn't very busy with work at the beginning.

I wasn't knitting much, and didn't have much to contribute, which is real and maybe a decent excuse.

I started knitting Clapotis with my furry boucle, and I don't know if it was a mistake or not. It may not drop stitches very smoothly, but I think it will be cozy, and look nice. It looks like a fleecy grey and white triangle, so you aren't missing much.

I also started knitting Warren's sweater - Glen Orchy from Simply Shetland . It is the sweater that the man is wearing on the cover, although the texture is very subtle. There is a large central cable on the front and back, and then an all-over waffle stitch.

I am not using the Jamieson's yarn since the shop only had shades of purple and reds, and he definitely wanted a coffee colored yarn. We found the perfect substitute in Harrisville Highland yarn, and it is coffee colored.

I am about halfway through the back, but photos don't turn out very well because it is so dark. I will work on that though.

I do have a picture of another project.

This is a scarf I knit in 3x3 rib using Noro Lily. I expected it to be longer and wider, and it is when stretched. Blocking only made it shrink back down even more neatly - no fixing by blocking there. Yes those are the ends of the yarn and they are not woven in - why spend time weaving them in if you aren't sure you are happy with it?

So I ripped it out. I am going to go back and knit another scarf with it, but use an enlongated stitch to hopefully increase my length, and garter stitch to keep it from curling and avoid the shinking ribs.

We got to take another trip - to Point Loma. We were at the school for a debate tournament, and really enjoyed San Diego. I don't think they do much studying there though. We walked down to the shore, there are trials all over the top of the cliffs, and there is always excellent weather. And they have amazing sunsets.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland