notes | current | older | archive mail

04.18.05 | 9:27 pm
Knit for a living?

Mason-Dixon Knitting had a link to one of the loveliest websites - Naive Knitting . Her softies have so much character! And there is thoughtfully done art - so much better than many of the things sold in the gallery here (ie. sloppy de coupage, puff paint art, and uninspired photographs). Take a look at the crafts, and make sure you check out some of the web-interactive pieces at Thirty Six too.

It has made me go back to lusting after a sewing machine. Since that isn't going to happen for a while, the plans I have for a tibetan waisted skirt made from this great insect print hand painted fabric have to be put on hold, as well as trying my hand at making creatures, and other sewn things. The machine will have to wait until the house is built and jobs are obtained.

I also found a site that sells crafts on consignment - Cut + Paste . So between all this I have been kicking around in the back of my head the totally distracting idea of being able to sell handmade art and knitting.

But then I think about what I knit (socks, scarves, toys, sweaters, random fun things), what I would be able to produce easily and quickly (toys and wine bottle cozies), and then what seems to be selling well (cool shirts, jewelry, purses, and many lovely little things), I realize it might not be for me right now, and that I should stop thinking about a sewing machine.

I can console myself by buying the material for the skirt and taking over my mother's machine while we live in the basement waiting to build the house.

I did finish an infant hat made with a bit of left over sock yarn on the shortest pair of circular needles made. It is a tweedy rainbow of colors, and should fit.

I jammed my right pinkie yesterday and haven't been able to knit at all today. It turned out to be good because I looked for jobs, which turned out bad - there are all these exciting environmental advocacy groups, but no one is hiring. More searching, probably much more contemplations about just how much money you could make selling stuffed penguins.

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland