notes | current | older | archive mail

09.11.04 | 4:25 pm
Scientific knitting

Fillyjonk is correct. I am a knitting scientist, and a recent convert to knit-blogging. I am happy to find someone else who can talk about cellular slime molds.

I found some lovely pink ball shaped slimes, and an orange one the other day. They didn't make it back to the lab though, and I wouldn't have been able to key them out anyway.

The New York Times had an article last tuesday about mushroom hunters in Belize. It was a great article, and justified a lot of mushroom hunting, but the coolest part about it was the pictures of brightly colored fungi.

Mine are all brown, which doesn't help things much at all.

As far as scientific knitting goes, I have found a pattern for a scarf with cables designed to look like DNA. I don't remember where I found it, but will try to trace it down. I have plans for modifying the pattern to include color codes for the sugar and phosphate chains, and for the nucleotides, and making sure I have 3prime and 5prime ends.

There are some klein bottle knitting patterns out there, too. (those things where the outside and inside surfaces are really the same).

Last night, rather than go see Quills by myself, I stayed home with Warren who has a cold. He worked on his new bike, and I worked on my hat.

Alpaca makes the softest hats! It desperately needs blocked with all of the color work. It is a bit misshapen and needs ends woven in and some sort of top knot decoration. It looks great though. I tried it on, and the patterns show up perfectly.

The crown ended up being single check because anything else made decreasing difficult or didn't show up right. The decreases make a nice white spiral on the tan and white check, so it looks like more of a pattern than it really is.

Warren liked it. He also said if I can make something as soft and comfy and heavy as his Ireland sweater, he would wear it. The plain ribbed man's sweater from the new Knitty might work perfectly. There are so many sweaters in line though, and I have to find the right yarn.

He just declared himself a "bike-wiring bad-ass." I think I said earlier that this bike thing was a passing interest. It is most definitely not. He has spent the past few days at the bike shop next to the coffee shop, building one from scratch.

My secret pal has received her first package. I am afraid to say too much or she will guess who I am. I doubt there are many others who could be from the same area I am, have certain travels under my belt, and other things that could lead to guessing. My future packages will have to be a bit more cryptic. I do have something up my sleeve, if only I can find what I need to pull it off...

previous | next



Most recent entries

I made it! - 02.26.06

Heel Turned! - 02.19.06

First day of the Olympics - 02.11.06

It stripes! - 02.03.06

Kiri, Glen Orchy, and Olympics - 01.20.06






Frequent Reads


Yarn Harlot

Wendy Knits

And she knits, too!

Fillyjonk

Poor Miss Finch

Naive Knitting

Mason - Dixon Knitting

Keyboard Biologist

The Blue Blog

Mag Knits







Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Diaryland